Leap Day Exclusive! Save 80% on your Pro license

99.00 Pro license – Feb 29 only!

  1. Academy
  2. Manage your Mix details

Manage your Mix details

Homescreen

On the Home screen of the app, you can manage your DJ mix projects.

If you are already in a mix, you first go to the DJ.Studio home screen by either:

How to go back to the Home screen
  • Clicking the DJ.Studio icon or the Home icon in the top-left corner. 

  • Click on the top-left dropdown with the name of your mix, and select Close, making sure to save on the way out. 

Manage your Mix details#

Project Actions

Click on one of your existing projects to open up the Mix detail screen:

  • Open - Opens the selected project.

  • Edit - Shows a window for editing the Title, Artist Name, Genre, and Description of the mix. 

  • Duplicate - Create a copy of the mix. 

  • Backup - Creates and exports a .DJS file, which contains all the information needed to reimport the mix into DJ.Studio. This is useful if you want to send your projects to another machine or back them up on a hard drive for safety. 

  • Delete - Deletes the project from your hard drive, and DJ.Studio. 

    Tabs

There are three display tabs:

  • Tracklist - This shows the playlist of tracks used in the set. You can click on the track to open the track information editor. 

  • Details - Shows metadata information for the chosen mix, including: Artist, Date Created, Last Modified, Version, Duration, Track Count, Genre, and Description. 

  • History - Shows all historical versions of the mix, from the earliest to the latest. These older versions can be restored from inside the project, through the top-left mix menu. 

Auto-Save and Versioning#

DJ.Studio autosaves the project any time you make an action. This is usually useful, although if you want to go back to an earlier version, it could cause problems. 

This is why we created the versioning feature. This automatically creates a hidden duplicate of the project file, so you can go back to earlier versions if needed. These older versions can be accessed from the Revert To button from the mix menu. 

Save simply overwrites the current project, creating a new version.

Save As creates a duplicate, meaning you can split your save projects into different files as needed, which can be a good idea if you want to test out changes.